3 Hospitals : Montreal North-shore South-shore
DMV-North in Blainville
1 800 463-8555
20, Boulevard des Châteaux, Blainville (QC), J7B 1Z8
Virtual tour and information»
DMV-South in Saint-Hubert
1 800 463-8555
1655, Boulevard des Promenades, St-Hubert (Qc) J3Y 5K2
Virtual tour and information»
DMV Montréal
1 800 463-8555
2300, 54e Avenue, Montréal (Lachine) H8T 3R2
Virtual tour »
Newsletter
Subscribe by entring your email
Subscribe »

Emergency Admission

As soon as you sign the procedures authorization form, your pet will be placed in a clearly identified cage in which it will stay for the duration of its stay.

Leave no personal belongings

Other than its collar, please do not leave any personal belongings with your pet. Objects left in cages are washed every day, which increases the risk of your belongings being lost or damaged. DMV Center provides blankets and leashes. We will make sure that your pet is as comfortable as possible at all times.

Is your pet already on medication?

If your pet requires medication or special food, please bring it to our attention and provide us with the right quantities of food or drugs. If your animal doesn’t need a special type of food or if the required special food is available at the Center, we will provide it.

Procedures

After the admission, we will proceed as soon as possible with the required procedures (laboratory, radiography, IV fluid setup, surgery, etc.). As with human emergencies, at DMV Center, animals are seen in order of priority. If your pet is in critical condition, it will benefit from the required treatment faster. On the other hand, if your pet is stable, it may have to yield its place to animals with more serious conditions.

Record sheet of treatment

Once your pet is admitted, the veterinarian will inform an animal health technician as to which parameters need to be monitored and to what treatment is required. The technician will then carry out any tests that might be needed. Test results and other information will be recorded on a treatment sheet identified with your pet’s name. Our certified technicians are competent and devoted to your pet’s care and comfort; they will have frequent and privileged contacts with the hospitalized pets and they represent a crucial link between them and the veterinarians.

Daily follow-up

Every hospitalized animal is examined at least once a day by a veterinarian. These examinations help the veterinarian to evaluate the progression of the animal’s initial problem, as well as to monitor changes that could have occurred during its hospitalization. Every case is discussed three times a day at the veterinarians’ shift changes.

Not from Montreal? If you need to stay at the hotel while visiting DMV Center, here is a list of hotels that accept dogs of all sizes. Click here.

3 Hôpitaux : Montréal Rive-Nord Rive-Sud
DMV-Nord à Blainville
1 800 463-8555
20, Boulevard des Châteaux, Blainville (QC), J7B 1Z8
Visite virtuelle et information »
DMV-Sud à Saint-Hubert
1 800 463-8555
1655, Boulevard des Promenades, St-Hubert (Qc) J3Y 5K2
Visite virtuelle et information »
DMV Montréal
1 800 463-8555
2300, 54e Avenue, Montréal (Lachine) H8T 3R2
Visite virtuelle »
Infolettre
Inscrivez-vous via le formulaire suivant
Souscrire »

Au moment de l’hospitalisation

Dès que vous aurez signé l’autorisation de procédures, votre animal sera placé dans une cage bien identifiée qui lui sera réservée pour toute la durée de son hospitalisation.

Ne laissez pas d’effets personnels

À l’exception du collier, nous vous prions de ne pas laisser d’effets personnels avec votre animal. Les objets se trouvant dans les cages sont lavés tous les jours, ce qui augmente grandement les risques de perdre ou d’endommager vos effets personnels. Le Centre DMV fournit des couvertures et des laisses. Nous assurerons à votre animal un séjour confortable en tout temps.

Votre animal prend-il déjà des médicaments?

Si votre animal prend déjà des médicaments ou s’il mange une nourriture spéciale, portez-le à notre attention et apportez-nous la quantité de médicaments ou de nourriture dont il aura besoin. Si votre animal n’a pas besoin d’une nourriture spéciale ou s’il s’agit d’une nourriture offerte au centre, nous lui fournirons.

Procédures

Après l’admission, nous procéderons dès que possible aux procédures (laboratoire, radiographies, installation de fluides IV, chirurgie, etc.). Comme pour la médecine humaine, le Centre DMV fonctionne par ordre de priorité médicale. Si l’état de votre animal est critique, il bénéficiera d’un traitement plus rapide. En contrepartie, il peut devoir céder sa place à des animaux dans un état plus grave que le sien.

Fiche de traitement

Quand votre animal est admis aux soins continus, le vétérinaire expliquera au technicien en santé animale les paramètres à surveiller, le traitement à instaurer et il lui demandera de procéder à certains tests. Ces données seront consignées sur une fiche de traitement identifiée au nom de votre animal. Nos techniciens sont diplômés, compétents et dévoués. Ils ont des contacts fréquents et privilégiés avec les animaux hospitalisés et sont un lien inestimable entre ces derniers et les vétérinaires.

Suivi quotidien

Tous les animaux hospitalisés sont examinés au moins une fois par jour par un vétérinaire. Cet examen sert autant à apprécier l’évolution du problème initial qu’à découvrir un problème qui serait apparu pendant l’hospitalisation. Tous les cas sont aussi présentés pour discussion trois fois par jour, au moment des rondes de vétérinaires.

Vous venez de l’extérieur de la région de Montréal ?

Si vous devez demeurer à l’hôtel pour une visite au DMV, nous vous proposons une liste d’établissements hôteliers qui acceptent les chiens de toutes les grosseurs. Cliquez ici.